Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In many countries nowadays, people opt to prioritize generating income to become wealthy with a stable job rather than pursue their passion and personal fulfillment. It mainly stems from the world perception that acquiring money is the major goal in human lives and as a result, individuals spends their whole life chasing materialistic gains and superficial rewards therefore, sacrificing the most important aspect in life which is happiness from doing things you love.

Securing a financially stable job even though there is no individual growth is a major problem these days. People choose to look for job prospects with high compensation to satisfy their materialistic needs however, sacrificing their personal interests and passion. For an instance, Japanese workers in Japan are more inclined to work from 7 am to 7 pm in the evening, most of them were being forced to work overtime, to rake more work hours and increased salary as well as avoid being laid off, due to this, having work and life balance seems impossible. Although japanese work etiquette is recognised around the world as one of the hardworking and praiseworthy workers, hence, the downside is that their health and well-being is being compromised.

Some of the consequnce of the abscence of work and life balance is the lack of time to destress, no room to breathe and unable relax one’s mind, as well as lack of exercise or mobility can lead to health deterioration in the future. Stress builds up overtime affecting mental, emotional and physical health that resulted to high suicidial rate in countries like Japan, Singapore and South Korea.

To conclude, the world perception should not be prioritise over your over all well being because it will cause individual health derterioration and unfulfillment in life in the long run.