Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

People depend on their jobs to survive thus the importance of the choice becomes more crucial than ever before. Parents start thinking about the profession of their little kids before they can even talk. Nevertheless, one must also consider the suitability of the profession according to their talents and interests. Unfortunately, more and more people ignore their emotional satisfaction and prioritise the payment of the job over anything as a means to attain a more financially stable life. This unfortunate trend eventually creates a people whom mostly are dissatisfied with their work life which leads to a depressive life.

Firstly, there might be many different professions to choose from; however, it is not as easy as it seems to find a job in the field that draw you interest in the first place. Also, the amount of money they pay palpitate dramatically according to the field. There are many jobs that are unique such as archaeology yet there is not enough space for new recruitments. The chance of finding a job that pays enough to sustain a life is very low. The stakes are too high for people who must also consider the future. For instance, many people who are educated in more philosophical topics are eventually forced to abandon their passion since they cannot find a job offering that would pay. This demerit pushes many young adults to go after conventional jobs that are more secure as there provide stabile income. Thus, these people fall into a life where they wake up and work unwillingly at least 5 days a week for the rest of their lives. Consequently, they become more and more depressed and less energised to enjoy their hard-earned money.

To evaluate, there are also many controlling adults who condition their children to choose a specific profession from a very young age. These adults consider the public image and salary of the job to be the most important factor in deciding to build a career around. They train their kids according to their judgment therefore these children find themselves working in fields that they are not slightly interested in or talented for. This terrible approach in raising a child consequently dooms these people’s lives as they mostly cannot climb the salary ladder since they have no possible device to prove themselves worth more. Moreover, they hate generally hate the job which they have no sentiment for. Hence, their work becomes a burden that they must endure because it was decided for them by their parents without considering their interests.

Overall, many talents are lost as a consequence of the prioritisation of the payment of the job with the rising costs of life. Many people are forced to suppress their gifts to follow the idealised profession that their parents insist upon. On the other hand, young adults who chose to follow their passion are pushed to abandon them in order to find a paying job. These unfortunate circumstances lead to sad and dissatisfied adults who despise their jobs.