Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There are many instances in life where various people experience doing the work they hate or have no talent for. This mainly happened because human beings are tend to play safe in the game of life pursuing practical routes rather than going for what they truly love to do. This decision later haunts them in life, regretting and wondering why they did pull the trigger in reaching their dreams.

Nowadays, people tend to lean towards in-demand career pathways that can give them financial benefits efficiently. This occurs as economies especially in third-world countries are not as stable as before, with record-breaking rate of inflation deters young people to pursue their dream jobs. For example, a friend of mine who is artistically gifted and said to me way back in our childhood days that he wants to become a renowned painter. However, fast forward today, he is still stuck with his 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. job for a prestige company, and has not updated his art portfolio for 10 years now. He told me that he is disgusted working for a capitalist conglomerate, but had no choice as it brings food to his table.

This decision of not trying to achieve what you are passionate for economical advantages may be good for one’s financial stability but this creates a sense of mid-life crisis problem. This is due to the fact that their finances are no longer an issue. As it is innate in nature for humans not to be contented in life, people will still look for insecurities in their life and the often victim is their childhood dreams. For instance, my friend said he is doing well in his job but there is still lacking in his soul that he cannot explain, stating that what’s the point of living when you cannot enjoy it. He added that is talent in drawing is useless if being use.

In conclusion, people choose practical careers for financial stability even if it meant forgetting the thing that their heart wanted to do, and this decision leads them towards their contemplation of their life.