Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In this modern day, many people pursue a career that they do not have a knack for or entirely detest their current job. Some may argue that this has occurred due to not having a choice in the matter, may it be because they have to provide for their family or were forced to pursue certain professions that they were never initially interested in.

Nowadays, parents tend to force their children into careers they never wanted in the first place. Parents may argue that they have more life experience and therefore know what is better for their children. Moreover, culture can play a substantial role in determining what lines of work children ought to pursue. For instance, most parents of arabic descent do not give their children the freedom to choose a career that falls out of the scope of medicine, law or engineering. As well as, some people may feel forced to accept a job that they lack interest in, simply because they have no other means of providing for their family or do not have a higher form of education to strive for a better income.

One of the major drawbacks to disliking your area of work or lacking the skills and talent in it is job dissatisfaction. Many people feel dissatisfied in their current jobs and as a result, it can cause detrimental effects on society. For example, some may state that they have lost their ambition in life and therefore, do not feel the need to go above and beyond in their present occupations. As a result, the workforce will suffer and so will the growth of businesses. Furthermore, this can have dire consequences on people’s lives. For instance, if doctors were forced into their profession, patient care would drop significantly and consequently put their lives at risk.

In conclusion, most people have chosen a career that they dislike or are talentless in because they have not been given any other choice in the matter, whether because it had been enforced upon them by their parents or their circumstances. Ultimately, this can cause job dissatisfaction and loss of ambition.