Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a large number of people choose to study academic subjects at universities rather than attend vocational training courses. While I acknowledge that a university degree is essential and beneficial, I wholeheartedly agree that we should also encourage people to pursue vocational training and become qualified workers, such as electricians and plumbers.

There are two important reasons why more vocationally-trained workers are needed. Firstly, when buildings are constructed or repaired, the expertise of electricians, plumbers, and other tradespeople is vital. For instance, essential facilities in key sectors such as hospitals, schools, and museums often require expansion or maintenance. Having trained workers perform this type of work not only ensures the safety of the buildings but also contributes to an improvement in the overall quality of life in the community. Secondly, there is an oversupply of graduates with the same academic major in some countries every year. Consequently, the proportion of graduate unemployment is increasing significantly each year as well. Therefore, the authorities in those countries need to ensure that additional vocational training is provided.

More people should be encouraged to attend career-oriented courses to meet society’s needs. The schools should not just focus on exam-driven curriculum which is found to be quite impractical and demotivates students when they have low grades. Schools, therefore, must make changes in the curriculum and provide workshops to teach practical skills. parents should also encourage their children to find out their gifts and explain the good job prospects to inspire them to choose vocational careers.

In conclusion, I agree that it is essential to encourage more people to attend vocational training. This is because the more qualified workers we have, the better our society can function effectively to meet its needs.