Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In the contemporary era, with advancement of medical science , there is cure for most diseases, however, sadly some treatments are so expensive that the common man from many poor countries cannot afford them. I opine that the pharmaceutical companies should aim for the larger reach of the medicines with reduced prices, which could be affordable for all. In this essay, I would like to explore the reasons why the cost of medicines should be reduced for the lesser privileged and the means of how this could be made possible.

Firstly, let us dive into the rationale of why the treatment should be made affordable. Medicine by itself is a boon to mankind, where tremendous efforts have gone into research and the finding of a cure. The basic intent with which doctors and scientists have put in this years of study and effort , is to ease mankind of the pain and suffering of the disease. Hence, it would be only morally justified that the cure reaches all without prejudice of their social or financial status. The cure will help save lives on larger scale and definitely do larger good to humanity. Therefore, the drug companies must strive for the larger reach of their medicines to all, especially the poor.

Nevertheless , the second aspect we should also look at is the means of how the pharmaceutical giants can do this in a more sustainable manner and not bankrupt themselves by solely looking at the reach of the cure as a charity. Firstly, they could tie up with bodies such as the governments, NGOs and any charitable organizations, who would help in contributing to the subsidized rates in the poor countries. Secondly, on their part, the drug companies could have a portion of their profit allotted to free or reduced prices as part of their corporate social responsibility. Additionally, they could also support or run campaigns to raise fund for the good cause.

To conclude, it is my opinion that medicines should be available to both rich and poor alike and our pharma companies can strive to make this a reality by offering their treatments at reduced prices for the financially deprived by joining forces with the right humanitarian organizations as well as doing their part in contributing part of their profits for the noble cause.