Many people nowadays prefer online shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

The past few decades have seen a dramatic increase in the popularity of distance shopping, a phenomenon that has some benefits and drawbacks. Whilst some opponents claim that this creates a high competition, and it destroys the local industries in struggling countries, myriads of proponents believe that shopping online saves time and money. I think that this is a positive development because it makes our life more convenient.

In the beginning, e-stores have made purchasing more appropriate. To illustrate, if buyers depend on Amazon or Jumia for buying their groceries, they can do this even from work; as a consequence, a great number of people opt for purchasing from these platforms to save their time. For instance, it was shown in a recent study by Alexandria University that many undergraduates have become addicted to shop online in recent years. It is revealed from the example that e-stores provide a comfortable way of shopping; furthermore, they will be more popular among future generations.

In addition, online stores allow customers to shop around as they are able to compare prices within a plethora of sites. Although consumers buy goods from the comfort of their home, they have the ability to search for the best value for a product. A prominent example is Amazon which has a large competition among its traders in quality and prices; as a result, this store will be the best choice if one wants to find the lowest price of an item. What can be assumed is that it is really easy nowadays to search for the best values of products before paying cash through online platforms.

In conclusion, it is known these days that distance shopping has gained an excellent reputation because not only does it allow people to shop anytime and everywhere but also it provides an amazing competition between sellers. I hold the view that this has made life better and cheaper.