Many people nowadays tend to marry and have children in their thirties rather than at a younger age. Is this a positive or negative development?

The tendency to have children in their thirties, rather than at younger ages is getting more popular in most countries worldwide, which frequently depends on financial, psychological, and sometimes modern cultural factors. From my perspective, having kids in their thirties is a positive development for several reasons.

Firstly, in this age group, people have more stable incomes, better careers and educational achievements, etc. which let people have economic and social opportunities to bring up a child in a better atmosphere and life conditions. In many countries, it takes time for people to find a way in a career and start to earn enough money to take care of a family with a child. In their twenties, this could be challenging, as most people still studying, or just started a career, so giving birth to a child can result in a gap in education or work, and economic difficulties. Taking into consideration the needs of a newborn child, from a financial point of view having a baby in their early ages, can be tough for both partners.

On the other hand, some psychological factors can be a reason for having children not at their early ages, but in their thirties, as people get to know themselves better and know what they want in life, they are mentally stronger and have more characteristics, which are very important in bringing up a child, such as the level of responsibility, emotional stability, control, etc. Parents in their thirties can communicate with their kids better and understand their demands. On the other hand, people in their thirties are more independent and in most cases have freedom of choice in their decisions, as in most Eastern countries people of young ages are under the pressure of their parents and can decide not to have a child really, but a grandchild for their parents.

To sum up these factors, I maintain the idea of having a child in their thirties and older rather than an early age, as a person in their thirties is financially and psychologically more stable and can handle parenthood better, which can be a reason for happier child and better society in long perspective.