Many people nowadays tend to marry and have children in their thirties rather than at a younger age. Is this a negative or positive development?

Marriage has always been a personal choice. It is a milestone that one should prepare for as it comes with responsibilities, massive changes, adjustments, as well as more demands. In today’s generation it can be observed that many people wanted to settle down and rear children in their thirties rather than when they are younger. This I see as a positive trend. Settling down at a later time allows individual to achieve their full potential, gives time to pay back to those who helped and raised them, and lastly makes them effective and emotionally mature parents and partners.

Adults today take the time before marriage to achieve financial stability and stabilize their careers. They tend to seek more stable jobs and career growth which paves way for them to earn more and save more. The financial freedom allows them to invest on various things, for instance, building their own house, buying their own car. Comes with financial freedom is also the freedom from worries and emotional instability. This makes it possible for them to support their spouses and create a safe environment for their children.

The emotional maturity that comes with aging also allows adult to attain responsible parenting and healthy relationships with their spouses. At thirties, they are more mature, open-minded, less impulsive, and are effective decision makers. Therefore as a result, their marriages become more stable. Conflicts and divorces are lessened. Furthermore, children raised through wiser parenting are believed to be more guided and well-nurtured. This I think impacts how they behave and think when they grow up.

Lastly, people also take the time to pay back to their parents’ sacrifices. What they are and what they’ve reached in life is something they owe to their parents. This is also where they are able to find meaning in their hardships, sacrifices, and labor. Giving back is something people at thirties aim and prioritize before settling down.

To sum up, delaying marriage and childbirth until one’s thirties is a positive trend. This permits them to pursue personal growth, build strong financial foundation, and become more responsible parents in the future.