Many people say that universities should only offer places to young student with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The placement of students in the tertiary leveal has become a topic of debate. Majority of the population believe that young individual with highest mark should be given admission to further, nevertheless, others hold the perception that every learners regardless of age and academic performance should be given same opportunity into the school. In my opinion, l strongly agree with the latter, and l will explain my opinion in the essay with examples.

On the one hand, students with high marks in the university creates competition among them .It is well- known that this helps individuals to compete among themselves in scoring the best among their peers. Also, this helps the college gain more respect in achieving high standard of academic performance . For example, The University of Ghana – Legon has been recorded as the most reputable tertiary school globally, due to it good academic performance by students.

On the other hand, other students who do not get the chance into the college by poor performance or age put burden on the government. This will increase the number of illiterate in the country, causing more crime rates due to unemployment, so admission should be given to all to reduce such cases. Additionally, young students can relate well with the older student and even learn more from each other to help balance their differences. Furthermore, others may be good when it comes to exhibiting skills or tallmts such as in the field of any sporting activities.

In conclusion, although young learners with high grades in the tertiary creates learning competition among students and help the school to gain global recognition. I strongly believe giving equal chances for both the old and young will reduce the rate of illiterate in the nation .