Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

In the modern world, there exists a trend that the rising disparity between the wealthy and the underprivileged engenders legions of social problems.

To commence with, it is obvious that the growing financial differences among groups of citizens cause numerous social problems. First of all, impoverished residents would be trapped in the vicious circle of poverty. In other words, quality education and professional training would be beyond the reach of this social class, rendering them unemployed or offered low-paid manual jobs. The accumulation of misery and hardships would submerge disadvantaged people in endless depression which provokes them to become involved in illegalities and social evils. On a larger scale, countries whose large gap between those two social classes exists might find it overwhelmingly challenging to both govern and thrive. The widening gulf is a precursor to intractable social inequality and instability which trigger political unrest and deprive any nation of peace and prosperity.

Nonetheless, such a gap could be narrowed with the interventions from authorities. The first and foremost remedy is that governments should increase taxes imposed on the better-off citizens and simultaneously exempt the low-income inhabitants from paying taxes. The disadvantaged could save a great deal of money and thus enhance their life quality, contributing to bridging the gap as a result. Another feasible solution for this pressing issue is that more development projects should be conducted to empower the underprivileged citizens. For example, by providing sufficient education, financial aids and more job opportunities for this group of residents, they could earn a living and radically eradicate the relentless trap of poverty.

In conclusion, even though the financial inequality between two main social classes is on the rise due to several factors, the gap could be erased by suitable governmental policies and development efforts.