Many people struggle to manage their personal finances effectively. What are the causes of this problem, and what measures can be taken to improve financial literacy?

In recent years, struggling to manage personal finances properly has become increasingly prevalent among individuals. While this problem can largely be attributed to people’s lack of financial literacy, consumer culture and easy access to credit, a range of effective measures can be implemented to alleviate financial burden on individuals.

Experiencing financial management challenges stems from a variety of sources. Chief among them is an inadequate financial education. As majority schools are unable to teach subjects specialized in developing students’ financial planning and budgeting skills, many people haven’t developed financial literacy from an early age. Consequently,they struggle to handle money responsibly as they get older, which makes it difficult for them to make informed financial decisions. For instance, some younger people who have poor spending habits tend to spend their incomes without planning and they experience financial instability before the next month arrives. On top of this, advertisements and easy access to credit play a significant role, encouraging people to excessive spend. With people making unnecessary purchases via credit card debt, it can lead to accumulated debt. For example, some people who have impulsive buying behaviour purchase new mobile phones or clothes regardless of their financial capabilities.

That said, there are a number of feasible steps that can be taken to mitigate this issue. A good starting point would be to introduce financial education in schools and universities. This can be achieved by the curriculum being expanded with personal finance courses where students can gain better a understanding of budgeting techniques, money management strategies and practical financial skills. This paves the way for individuals to become financially capable and responsible for their decisions. Another impactful measure is raising public awareness. This can be implemented by organising public programs that focus on promoting financial guidance. Such educational campaigns like seminars, financial counselling courses and even useful social posts will go a long way towards helping citizens develop healthy spending habits and encouraging them to make wiser financial choices. As an example, banks can establish free financial counselling and courses which would help people develop financial discipline and achieve financial insecurity.

To sum up, individuals’ financial illiteracy is primarily driven by lack of primarily awareness and consumer culture. Although, there is no quick fix to this problem, promoting financial literacy curriculum and fostering public awareness have the potential to address the issue.