Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals believe that modern-day communication technologies have adversely impacted social relationships. While I agree with this view to some extent, I also argue that technology also has had beneficial effects on our relationships by fostering connections across distances and creating opportunities for meeting like-minded people.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people think communication technology harms social relationships. For one, online communication means that the chance for misunderstanding increases. Modern communication lacks non-verbal cues like body language and tone of voice, making it easier for messages to be misinterpreted. For instance, a playful jab might be mistaken as a genuine insult, leading to unnecessary conflict. In addition, online communication makes us more lonely. Because most online communication nowadays happens on smartphones and computers, it means people are less likely to engage in real-life social activities, which can lead to feelings of isolation. This lack of personal interaction can have several detrimental effects on our health, such as depression and anxiety.

However, I still side with those who think that these technologies have benefited our relationships. Firstly, cutting-edge technologies enable us to connect with others across time zones and geographical locations, which can facilitate social interactions and therefore strengthen interpersonal bonds. For example, Facebook users can communicate with their friends and families not just through instant messaging, but also through video calls, nurturing relationships even when they are physically apart. Moreover, online communication has provided a platform for people to connect and meet with like-minded individuals. Social media forums, such as Reddit, connect people who share interests in areas such as history, video games and arts. These virtual interactions can lead to meaningful friendships and a sense of belonging.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that advancements in communication technology have negatively impacted interpersonal relationships to some extent, I also maintain the view that leaps in communication technology have allowed us to strengthen our existing relationships and make friends with people who have a similar taste to us.