Many people think that it is unnecessary to teach children handwriting skills in this technological age. Do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that teaching students handwriting skills are unessential in this digital era. From my point of view, I don’t agree with this statement for some compelling reasons.

First and foremost, one of the main arguments why I am against this opinion is that handwriting is one of four necessary skills, including speaking, listening, and reading. In the past, when the technology was not advanced, handwriting and face-to-face communication were two effective methods that people used to interact with others. Nowadays, although we are living in a modern world, where we can use a number of methods to write something down, such as using electronic devices like smartphones, laptops, computers, handwriting still plays a pivotal role in our daily life. For example, children, who are too young to own an electronic device, have to be taught writing by hand, which can help them to take note and write down the knowledge that the teachers give them.

Moreover, it should be acknowledged that youngsters who use some digital devices, can easily neglect and be distracted by other recreational applications such as Tiktok, Facebook, Instagram. Most of the time when students apply handwriting skills, they are studying at school, and if they don’t concentrate on the lesson, they would gain nothing from teachers. Furthermore, in the class, it is extremely difficult for teachers to control all children and ensure that they are finishing assignments or playing video games.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with the idea that handwriting is unimportant to teach for children. Although we are living in the technological world, where there are a lot of applications which help us to write, it could be better to equip students with handwriting skills.