Many people think that spending a lot on weddings and celebrations is waste of money. Other think it is important for youngsters and society. Discuss both opinion.

In recent years, there has been growing concern that family celebrations, which includes birthdays and weddings, should be spent with a lot of money. This issue has generated several opinions in a society regarding its advantages and disadvantages.

Some argue that it is reasonable. This opinion usually comes from elderly people, which still relies on traditional mindset. They believe that each celebration should cost a lot of money since it will build their image as a perfect family. A family’s image branding is crucial for them. For instance, the majority of families in Indonesia spend hundreds of million of rupiah to hold an enormous party. Furthermore, as the world continues to modernize, the number of online loan providers is rising, which leads to the growth of expenses in family celebrations. This will create a long-term impact, which increases family’s debt if they cannot afford to pay it. For some social classes, they will struggle in facing those challenges and eventually lead to stress and pressure.

On the other hand, some believe that it is a waste of money. This opinion usually comes from the youngsters. They believe that it should be spent on other sectors, including entertainment. For instance, the majority of new couples in Indonesia prefer to spend their budgets on entertainment, including honeymoons, rather than the wedding celebrations. Moreover, several countries have experienced the global financial crisis over the past years, which led to decline in some sectors’ expenses that are not as crucial as our essential goods, including shelter, food, and clothing.

In my opinion, I believe that it is not crucial to spend a lot of money on family celebrations and we should maintain and control our budgets well. A balanced solution, in which expenses in every sector are balanced, is recommended.