Many people think that the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current era of modernity, it is often contended that the primary aim of school is to shape the student into good citizens and employees rather than focusing on their personal development. I completely disagree with this perspective, primarily for two compelling reasons.

To commence, the primary reason for this agreement education should focus on individual development with helping student to develop their potential and interest. This is fundamentally important because each student has different abilities and aspirations, so education should nurture their character and critical thinking skills. For instance, subjects such as art and music help students express themselves and discover their personal interests, which are not always related to future jobs. Consequently, when schools encourage personal growth, students become more confident, creative, and motivated to achieve their own goals.

Furthermore, another justification of this stance is that personal growth also help students become better members of society. This viewpoint is supported by students who learn to think independently and develop confidence, they are more likely to use their skills to solve problem and help others. For example, learner who are creative in thinking new ideas can later become teachers, doctors, or community leaders who make a positive impact in their communities. Therefore it is evident that focus on personal development not only benefits for students themselves but also contributes a positive impact to society.

In conclusion, I believe that schools should focus on students personal development. By growing their interests and abilities, student become more confident to achieve the goals and can also help society.