Many people today are choosing to travel to other countries. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or negative development?

In our contemporary world, the number of people travelling overseas is significantly rising. This phenomenon can be attributed to several underlying factors, and I firmly believe that it represents a largely positive development.

There are numerous reasons why an increasing number of people prefer travelling abroad. Paramount among these is the development of social media. To be more specific, through social media platforms like TikTok or Facebook, individuals are exposed to different cultures or attractive destinations in the world, which motivates them to experience these places firsthand. For instance, Disneyland Park in Shanghai, China has recently been a famous check-in destination on TikTok for its breathtaking scenery and magnificent castles, so viewers are more stimulated to spend such a large amount of money on such a personal experience. Another contributing factor is easier travel arrangement. Indeed, travellers can easily find accommodations and restaurants in advance, book flights or even compare prices between airlines with a click. This convenience would absolutely reduce the complexity of travel planning and make international trips more accessible, especially for people who have never travelled abroad before.

From my perspective, increasing international travel brings tremendous benefits. To commence with, this practice would promote cultural understanding. They have a chance to interact with the locals, experience new lifestyles and immerse themselves into traditions and customs there, thereby gaining a deep insight into several different nations with a variety of cultures. Moreover, international tourism contributes to economic development in host countries. When the number of travellers increases, not only tourist industry but also businesses related to hospitality or transportation have to recruit a large number of employees to meet the tourists’ need, thereby creating more job opportunities for inhabitants there. They would probably not struggle to earn their living, and life qualities are therefore significantly improved.

In conclusion, increase in international tourism can be ascribed to technological development and the convenience of travel arrangements. I suppose that this trend is overwhelmingly positive, since it not only brings greater cultural understanding but also boosts the economies of host countries.