Many people today prefer to communicate through social media instead of face-to-face interaction. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is no denying the fact that digital platforms have replaced face-to-face interaction between individuals. While it is a commonly held belief that the positive side of social media outweigh the negative side, there is also an argument that digital platforms may lead to a lack of face-to-face interaction. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion.

On one hand, one key benefit of online communication surpass in-person interaction is that it encourage people to stay in touch from different locations. In other words, social media can contribute to save time when people use it instead of personal interaction. To illustrate, a person who intend to meet his friends, but does not have sufficient time to go for face-to-face communication, in this case he can shift from offline to online communication. Furthermore, digital platforms is crucial for students who are study overseas and they are away from their families.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of shifting from in-person interaction to online platforms play a vital role in the reduction of the importance of face-to-face interaction, which considered to be a negative effect among society. It is also possible to say that digital platforms prevent persons from the warm feeling when in-person interaction happen. Moreover, social media mitigate individuals relationships with their family and loved ones. For instance, when people want to meet with their peers, they do not rely in social media which strengthen their bonds.

In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that nothing can exceed personal communication, because the advantages surpassed the disadvantages. In addition, it is a significant part of my tradition.