Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, it is common for people in the working class to work long hours despite their decreasing free time. This essay will evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon, as well as resonate the writer’s own opinions.

A great amount of working time can benefit the workers financially, as they are paid by companies and customers to do the extra job. The earnings can be saved to make up pensions, which is a far-sighted and advantageous way to prepare for elderhood. However, there is a small chance that the amount of wages from working long hours will not be used until they grow old. Working long hours and under pressures causes unwanted effects on both physical and mental health, demanding medical treatment which consumes large sums.

It can also be said that once people do extra job at work, they will improve in their own field as well as create good images in their superiors’ impression. Therefore, they are more likely to get promoted and possess a bright career path. At the same time, there exists a more practical scenario, in which little time to rest and pursue personal enjoyment is likely to decrease productivity and professionalism, which worsen the worker’s image.

In my perspective, the merits and demerits of working extra hours depend largely on personal factors such as the worker’s priorities. For instance, one who puts their financial status above satisfaction and quality time would benefit from spending most of their time at work.

To conclude, though investing time in one’s career has both advantages and drawbacks, it can only be determined by the workers themselves based on their preferences.