Many small local sshops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarket in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved ?

It is not a surprise that many local small stores are closing because big supermarkets are hard to compete with. This essay will highlight effects this situation has on local communities and give some suggestions how to change the situation.

Firstly, when small buisness is shown to be unable to exist with large stores, many people loose their jobs and become unemployed because shop owners cannot afford to pay them anymore. Unemployed people may not find another job because of their specialisation and could feel stress caused by that traumatic experience. To reduce this type of risk government could pay some amoumt of money to those local buisnesses as a measure to secure them. It is proven to be a sucsessful practice in some Nordic countries.

Secondly, the absence of local products can impact the work some local communities do or catalize people moving out to a city. Problem stemming from this is that people are made to change traditions that have been present for hundreds of years in order to survive. In Western countries that have high capitalism levels, urbanisation is growing every year while some communities are basicly in the danger of extinction. Turning to the possible solutions we can try to actively advertise local communities` products to increase the chances for people to buy them.

To summarise, the situation that is happening with supermarkets and local shops can result in some unpleasant consequenses such as unemployement and local communities dissapearing. The key is believed lying in goverenment support and society advertisement.