Many students now have the opportunity to study in other countries. Studying abroad may bring some benefits to some students, but it also has a significant number of disadvantages. Discuss both sides of the argument and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there is an increasing trend for students to study overseas. This essay will demonstrate that while this has positive impacts such as the opportunity to broaden one’s worldview and enhance language skills, negative aspects such as a disconnection from family members is also a concerning issue that should be addressed.

On the one hand, studying in another country is very beneficial for the development of young minds as it gives them a wider perspective of the world they live in and improves their communication skills. The person who has spent time in another country is well equipped to make comparisons between the culture of that nation and their own, giving them insights into the mankind as a whole. For instance, the famous writer Salman Rushdie’s experiences in attending secondary school in England contributed largely to his masterpiece “Midnight’s Children”. Besides, talking to people who speak a different language requires a high level of linguistic proficiency, which is why a lot of children in Hong Kong who have studied in the UK become very fluent in the English language, despite that being their second language.

On the other hand, a lot of young people who have spent years studying in other countries have grown homesick. Overtime, they feel like there is a wide gap between the them and their own families, since they have been influenced by the culture they live in and have developed points of views apart from their family members. In the modern era, this problem can be easily solved due to the prevalence of online communication platforms like Zoom, where they can talk to their parents regularly to strengthen the bond that exists between them.

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of this trend are far more significant than its drawbacks, with the former being a widening of global viewpoint and enhancement of foreign language competence, and the latter problem of familial rift can be effortlessly tackled with modern technology.