Many things that used to be done in the home by hand are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, people use machines and electrical devices in order to perform tasks in their houses instead of doing them by hand. Although this trend has some disadvantages, I firmly believe the benefits of this development outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are some cogent arguments that are opposite to this trend. Firstly, doing routine tasks at home can be considered as physical activities for those who do not get any exercise outside of their homes. So, applying these machines is making people more sedentary and causing many health issues like obesity. In addition, using electrical devices requires so much energy that contributes to environmental degradation. Not only that, but also there is a need for a vast amount of money to purchase them. Finally, if any defect appears in such machines, individuals who are used to using them will get into trouble.

On the other hand, contrary to what is mentioned above, I agree that these machines improve the quality of lives in several ways. Firstly, as people are so busy these days, they have so little time to allocate to housework, and using home appliances makes situations easier for them. Furthermore, the cost of living is high not only in the metropolises, but also in small cities, thus, both men and women in families have to work outside. In addition, doing repetitive and fatiguing work at home has some devastating effects on housewives, including physical and mental health problems. Finally, doing many tasks at home can be hazardous for individuals, and robots decrease this in a good way.

In conclusion, despite there being some disadvantages in this respect, the benefits that are brought with such machines, like saving time and allocating that to hanging out with families, are far more than its drawbacks.