Many things that used to be done in the home by hand are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

There is an ongoing debate about whether the use of machines for household chores has more disadvantages than advantages, with some arguing that this trend leads to a sedentary life. While I acknowledge the importance of a physically active lifestyle, I firmly believe that home appliances can significantly improve home comfort.

On the one hand, critics contend that widespread use of electronic devices will drastically increase energy consumption. This can eventually lead to not only raised electricity bills but also pollution and resource depletion and harm the planet. Furthermore, some argue that electronic devices reduce traditional skills, such as sewing and cooking, which can be significant for some nations. Thus, the loss of these abilities can make individuals dependent on machines and less autonomous. This type of lifestyle can result in an inactive way of life and eventually lead to some health issues, including obesity and cardiovascular diseases.

On the other hand, I strongly agree with the notion that smart devices considerably upgrade our daily lives. Firstly, home technology improves efficiency in household chores, as humans can forget to finish duties day to day. For example, robots can be programmed to vacuum or mop the floors weekly, just by entering the day and time of cleaning. The same can be applied to gardening devices for watering the lawn and garden. An automated irrigation system can water your garden regularly, optimize your water usage, and adjust watering schedules based on local weather conditions. Another advantage is that household devices improve hygiene as they clean more thoroughly than manual methods, which is especially beneficial for families with children.

In conclusion, although household devices have certain minuses, luses significantly prevail. The convenience, the time-saving and other advantages remain essential for people nowadays; however, we should keep in mind the ecological footprint that these devices leave on the planet.