Many urban areas are experiencing a growing sense of social isolation and loneliness despite high population densities. What are the causes of this problem and what steps can be taken to foster a stronger sense of community?

Despite high population in cities, individuals are facing social isolation and loneliness. The primary factoras of these are strain from rising standards of living and increase in ownership of digital gadgets. Fortunately, if strategies like organisation of team building during spare time and visit of social places are applied, the issues can be addressed.

To begin with, one of the main reasons for lonliness and social isolation is high living standards in towns. People in urban areas have many bills to settle, hence they must show up on work daily, and sometimes work overtime to ensure that the pay will satisfy the needs, reducing interaction hours. For example, if people leave early for work and come back late and therefore, they may not interact with neighbours. Apart from standards of living, there is also the possession of technological devices such as phones and computer. Many people in towns own smartphones, which they normally use them for entertainment purposes. These make them to stay indoors and fail to interact with people outside. For instance, on weekends many youth spend their time on tiktok or video games in their houses, resulting in isolation from outside world. Thus, high standards of living and gadgets ownership are the main reasons for loneliness and social isolation.

However, this can be addressed by organising team building in some localities. If people in different estates organise some social activities during holidays, that can help in interaction and bonding. This can be exemplified by forming biking clubs for those who love cycling so that they can participate once in a while, which makes like-minded people to meet. Furthermore, town residents can create time to go to social places such as cinemas on weekends. These are places where friends can be made. Therefore, to mitigate issues of loneluiness and social isolation, people can organis for team building or visit social sites.

In conclusion, solitude and social isolation is caused by economic pressure and excessive use of devices. Nevertheless, this can be addressed by participating in team building and sometimes passing time in social places.