Many women are choosing to have children later in life. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in some countries individuals prefer to have children at later age. There could be several reasons for this, and I consider it to be a positive trend.

In recent years, parenthood has changed significantly in different societies. Financial aspect is the main reason of this issue. The rising cost of living is meant that both partners usually need to work and save money before starting a family. As a result, later marriage leads to delay a birth giving. However, lots of families gain long term savings, so children can have a comfortable life.

Furthermore, equal rights movements have made huge progress and it has become normal for women to make their career before creating a family. On the other hand, men now make less effort into their work and earn less money than before. Although, when couples have children, they may decide who works more depending on the personal preference of each partner and based on the salary level of each one.

In my view, the changes described before should be seen as a progress. We should be happy to live in a society in which women are not under the pressure to hide their careers. Moreover, increasing cost of living indicates an economical wellness in some countries.

In conclusion, the choice of having children at later age in life is a result of wider changes in society and I believe that the advantages outweigh disadvantages.