Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

In this day and age, more and more patients suffer from many health issues due to the lack of time for exercising during the working day and even in their leisure time. While the boom of advanced technology could be one of the main contributions to this problem, both individuals and governments could have many effective ways to improve the health quality.

There are many reasons that explain why people do not have enough time to work out to maintain a healthy body. In the past, due to the lack of modern means of transportation, employees often commuted to work by bike or on foot in their local areas. Moreover, on the weekends or after work, these people tended to have more outdoor activities with their family and friends in their neighborhood to strengthen the bonds they shared together. As a result, during the time workers went to work and came back home, they had a chance to work out and while they played outdoors, their bodies were healthy, both physically and mentally. However, in this modern world, thanks to technological advancements, a huge part of our society would choose subways or cars to easily, quickly commute between work and their houses, which could reduce the movements of their bodies. Furthermore, humans no longer work or live in their local areas, they are offered more job opportunities in many different cities or nations. Consequently, there are a significant number of people who keep in touch with their family and friends via the Internet, which could lead them not to be active to hang out with anyone else when they are free. Therefore, many serious illnesses in people are caused by individuals’ inactive lifestyle in this convenient, modern era.

Fortunately, there are many solutions that people can do to tackle this healthcare problem. Firstly, outdoor activities could be the main contribution to improve our health. Instead of keeping contact with family, friends and colleagues on the Internet, meetings in person to play sports or do other activities could do wonders to a human’s physical and mental well-being. Secondly, the companies should encourage their employees to take their time to work out. For example, employers should set a rule in which every worker will take a break and do a little exercise. Lastly, the governments should equip more public facilities that could support citizens’ exercising interests. For instance, if a city has more public parks, people will have more chances to pay a visit there every day and improve their health quality. In consequence, maintaining a healthy body should be done by each individual and the society through many effective ways.

In conclusion, even though the advance in technology could lead humans to many serious health issues caused by an inactive lifestyle, people still have a lot of chances to improve their well-being. Having more outdoor activities, taking a break to practice easy exercises during the working day and more public work out facilities are being equipped could keep our society away from illness.