Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel.The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For these few decades, students in Taiwan like to get a job or make some business after graduate from university. Though there are some different from foreign countries, where local students will face the situation and make decide earlier, when they graduate from high school. Those decision they made are result from some similar reasons.

First of all, the environment of society and school are completely different. In university we will be asked to work hard on whatever professors and teachers asked for studying, reading, reporting, writing homework and so on, all the things matter is the scores. Therefore, some of students will try to maintain their grade around 60 which is the lowest scores to pass the lesson. However, since we need to be professional in our careers, our attitude on working may not be as same as we are in academic life. For example, we need the ability to manage our time schedule and catch up deadline while done the task perfectly. Moreover, we need to present as we are very familiar on the program and the process of producing products that except by customers. Another reason why student want to earn some working experience rather than studying continuity is that we can found the clearly way to improve ourselves through working. In the high school we were asked for studying the basic subjects such as science, geography, math, Chinese and so on. Even when we attend to the university, our study of the fields is in an academic way. But when we tried to use our knowledge in business missions, we need to face problem from users that cannot solve by the technology or method which are state of the art. And the failure part of goods will become the thing we may want to improve or fix. After notice the problem of the society, we may know what the problem we will want to solved through the study with higher-education.

In conclusion, take a year or long time off for working and traveling are a good choice for graduate students, for that they will have more cognition of society which is better than stocking in the campus.