Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why is this the case? How can they be encouraged to go out?

Many young people spend their holidays and weekends not doing outdoor activities such as hiking and climbing in nature. There are two primary reasons why this is happening, and this essay will propose some solutions to encourage them to spend more time outdoors.

There are several reasons why young people do not take part in outdoor activities. A heavy academic workload is perhaps the worst culprit. Many students have to deal with endless homework, assignments, and tight deadlines, which consume a large amount of their time. As a result, they have no choice but to stay at home and rest instead of going outside, even though this lifestyle may be harmful to their mental and physical health. Another reason is that many young people prefer to spend their weekends indoor, such as playing video games, watching videos, or using social media, making them less interested in going out into nature.

However, all of this is not to say that it is impossible to help young people escape from their unhealthy habits. To encourage those people to do outdoor activities, a number of steps should be taken. The most effective solution could be to reduce excessive academic pressure. If students had less homework, they would have more time to go outside and exercise. In addition, schools should consider including school trips, sports events, and outdoor clubs in the timetable to inspire students to explore nature and develop an interest in activities such as hiking and climbing.

In conclusion, many young people do not take part in outdoor activities because of heavy academic pressure and their preference for indoor hobbies. However, this situation can be improved by reducing excessive homework and by organizing school trips and outdoor clubs. If these steps are taken, young people will be more likely to spend their free time in natural environments.