Many young people leave school with negative attitudes towards learning. What are the causes?How to encourage young people to study?

The majority of students have an unsatisfied attitude toward learning, when departing from their schools. What is the causation of this? How to encourage students to study?

To start with, the main causation of this problem is due to playing games and scrolling on social media. This is because when you scroll on social media or play games you get instant dopamine hits. Whereas, when you are studying you won’t get any dopamine, due to the fact that dopamine hits come from instant gratification, whereas studying has long term pleasure. In order to encourage students to study you should gamify your study. To gamify is to make studying like a video game. To do this you have to build a reward system. For instance you could have a calendar that you would check everyday if you studied, and if you studied for 5 days in a row you could play games for 3 hours. This makes studying more enjoyable and more interesting.

Another cause of this problem is the mindset most students have. The mindset most have is to wait for the perfect day to study or to do it tomorrow. This means if they are tired, bored or have something else to do they won’t study. This is the main reason for inconsistent study days. To prevent this, students would just have to push through this by themselves or make studying fun using the gamify system.

In summary, the main causation of this problem is from scrolling and gaming. For example, when gaming you get instance dopamine hits, while studying gives you long term pleasure. This is why most people don’t like studying. To break this cycle you can gamify your studying to make it more fun and enjoyable. Another problem is the wrong mindset, it is when you don’t want to study because of tiredness or laziness. To prevent this you just have to push yourself to the limit or to gamify it.