Many young people spend a lot of time on the internet without any parental supervision or control. What are some of the problems caused by unrestricted use of the internet and what can be done to curb these problems?

In the contemporary era, an increasing number of the younger generations spend a lot of time on digital backgrounds due to the lack of parental supervision or restriction. In this essay, I would evaluate various issues for this tendency, before suggesting some measures to alleviate these problems.

To begin with, there are two dominant problems behind this phenomenon, one of which is the overall health degradation. To be more specific, children, who excessively use the internet without any parental control, are often exposed to blue light from mobile devices for a long time rather than those are managed to their usage of the internet by parents, enabling the former to suffer from both physical and mental health problems such as short-sightedness,reduced concentration and even isolation. Therefore, excessive internet use can have long-term negative effects on their academic performances and relationships in the long run. Additionally, on a larger scale, unrestricted consumption on digital platforms leads to an increase in juvenile crimes in society. This is because if parents allowed young individuals to spend all time on the internet without any instructions, teenagers would have more opportunities to access black websites and unsuitable topics, thereby potentially mimicking actions related to violence or sex. Consequently, this leads to an imbalanced society, negatively affecting national development.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to tackle these issues. Firstly, communities should raise parents’ awareness of the importance of teaching their children how to use the internet in the most effective way. Specifically, balancing social activities and digital platforms can support children to strengthen their relationships toward surrounding people and broaden their horizons through keeping up with latest news online. As a result, children can enjoy the benefits of the internet while minimizing its negative impacts on both their physical health and social development. Furthermore, governments should regulate online content before it is released to the public, thereby reducing the spread of misleading and harmful information. Consequently, teenagers can access reliable and educational content and parents are less worried about negative effects of digital backgrounds.

In conclusion, excessive and uncontrolled internet use can negatively affect young people’s physical health, social development and behaviour. However, with proper guidance from parents and appropriate measures from governments, the adverse impacts of this trend can be significantly reduced.