Mental Health concerns aren't given as much attention as they presently demand. What could be the possible reasons for the same? Discuss this in detail and recommend some solutions.

Accomplishments and failures are all a part of our lives and must be understood as such. However, it has been categorically observed that a lot of people aren’t yet able to identify the mental health concerns, leave alone optimistically counter them. This essay shall deliberate upon the possible reason for the same and will conclude with some realistic and implementable solutions.

To begin with, one must do away with the misconception that mental health issues have only lately emerged; they have always been there but are not fully expressed due to the societal taboos associated with them. Whether it is a relationship conflict or dissatisfaction with one’s profession, whether it’s acute depression or a chronic feeling of lethargy and passivity, mental health concerns can fall within a broad spectrum and need to be mindfully addressed.

However, the problem lies in the fact that most people are not comfortable talking about their psychological health; indeed, the fear of being judged or ostracized rests heavily on them. Consequently, people suffer in silence and take recourse to either antidepressants, drugs, or worse, suicidal attempts. Understandably, a lot has to be done in order to ensure that this grave situation is addressed mindfully.

To achieve this, firstly, regular seminars, campaigns, and workshops need to be organized at the institutional level so that the hesitation around the topic goes away. Secondly, influential people in our society like movie celebrities, sportsmen, and other public figures should come forward and share their own experiences. And lastly, families and close relatives should be more supportive when it comes to mental health issues. If we, as a harmonious society, start taking these small yet concrete steps, we can envisage a community that is genuinely healthy in all aspects.