Mobile phones and the Internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the Internet? How can we encourage them to use this new technology?

Modern technology, such as mobile phones and the internet could benefit the older generation. However, not everyone utilizes them. From my point of view, implementing these technologies in daily lives of old people could bring them undeniable benefits, such as communication and leisure activities.

To begin with, the Internet and mobile phones can prevent help to prevent mental issues, such as isolation and depression among elderly individuals. Many senior citizens have to stay alone at home during the weekdays, as their children are working or studying. Consequently, lack of real- life communication and socialization can lead to depression or isolation. However, mobile phones allow people to interact with others within a distance, without a need to leave their house and meet in person. This development has significantly decreased stress levels and a feeling of loneliness among pensioners. Furthermore, the worldwide net can reduce stress among old people by encouraging them to learn, create and share. When elderly people spend extend period at home, they may feel bored or tired. Online platforms such as YouTube and Instagram can help them to find their hobbies, passions and interest by recommending videos related to cooking, crocheting or reading. As a result, they try out new things and occupy themselves with beneficial activities.

However, only minority of old people utilize these technologies in their daily lives. I believe that there are two main ways to encourage more elderly individuals to start using them and adapt to the modern world. Firstly, by slowly exposing them to modern technology such as the Internet or smartphones, people can prevent the initial shock and fear among pensioners. As they are not familiar to these technologies, sudden exposure can cause discomfort and fear; therefore, by gradually adopting such technology in their lives, people can prevent the feeling of overwhelm among old people. Moreover, young people can show the advantages the technology give; therefore attracting old people to use it. By clearly illustrating that the internet and smartphones are harmless, and can bring certain advantages, such as communication with others, health-related videos and various tutorials.

In conclusion, while modern technology can help prevent health issues such as depression or a state of isolation, young people can encourage old people to use them by gradual exposure and illustration of the benefits technology gives them.