Mobile phones and the Internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the Internet? How can we encourage them to use this new technology?

The usage of phones and internet services by older people is significantly less compared to millions of younger masses who frequently access these services on a daily basis. Using phones and internet can be beneficial for the older population, for instance, by connecting them to healthcare facilities available through mobile applications. Providing information on the significance of these technologies and organising trainings or tutorials on using them can be some ways to motivate older people to use them more often.

Phone and internet services can assist older people in getting healthcare advice from the comfort of their homes. Many seniors face mobility issues and physically visiting a healthcare facility can pose a significant challenge for some of these individuals, especially when they live on their own. In cases where personally visiting the doctors might not be necessary, older people can use internet services by booking an online consultation with a healthcare professional just by using their phone and internet. BUPA health insurance company in Australia, for example, provides access to a range of specialists and doctors that are available for online consultation through their mobile application available for both android and apple devices.

The starting point for motivating older people to use these technologies would be to make them aware of the associated advantages. Lack of information is the primary reason many older people might not be using these technologies more often. To tackle this challenge, governments can take some initiatives to raise awareness on the benefits and usage of mobile phones specifically for older people. Sending information brochures through mails or personal visits to older people’s homes by local government councils’ officials could be an effective way of doing this.

Another way to encourage older people to use internet is to provide some sort of training on using these technologies. Many older people are also hesitant to use their phones because of the technological challenges. To address this challenge, trainings can be organised by local councils where older people get hands on experience of using these technologies. This can be arranged by holding informative events at parks and community centres and providing training on how to use phones and internet for accessing useful services like healthcare, ordering grocery and other essential items online.

In conclusion, older people use mobile phones and internet facilities very less often compared to millions of young people who spend hours on their phones every day. This keeps older people from accessing some benefits of these technologies like online consultation with a doctor. Raising awareness on the benefits of phones and internet and arranging practical training on using phones are some of the ways to motivate them to use their phones.