Some people think that individuals should take care of the environment. Others think that the government should take care of the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A few people argue that taking care of the environment is each individual’s responsibility; however, others believe it is the government’s job. I think it’s both responsibilities: keeping the surroundings clean is a public responsibility, and garbage collection and waste management fall under the government.

Firstly, it is the responsibility of the public to keep their surroundings clean, but it doesn’t happen like in many colonies; water drain pipes are open on the road, which keeps the road wet all the time and creates foul smells all over there. Moreover, people do not take care of water resources and throw waste continuously, which causes the water to become undrinkable for animals. For example, according to the agriculture department report, in the last five years, many ponds were polluted because of netizens’ habits of throwing garbage into water.

On the other hand, the government can play a crucial role in raising awareness and putting in place a proper waste management system. Moreover, recycling of waste is essential to stop the piling of garbage. For example, in Delhi, there is a garbage dump area that has taken the shape of big mountains and acquired acres of land. Furthermore, the government could plant trees and could bring a law to stop the uncontrolled cutting of trees in India.

In conclusion, taking care of the environment is both public and government accountability, and if both do their parts honestly, then everyone could hope for a clean and healthy environment.