Modern agricultural technologies such as fertilizer, pesticide and modern machinery can feed the world better. However it is negative to human health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The development of science and technology not only blessed the modern lifestyle, but also has a great impact in the improvement of the agricultural sector. Due to the invention of modern machines, fertilizers and pesticides, nowadays it is easier to produce more crops in limited land at a short period. While some argues that such development has much negative effect on human health. I strongly agree with this statement. Overuse of pesticides and fertilizers can have adverse affect on human health.

To begin with, modern science has blessed agricultural fields in various ways. It is due to advancement in agriculture several crops are cultivated with a short time. For example, in Bangladesh three different types of paddy can be cultivated over the year on the same land. As a result, hunger problem has come under control. People suffering from nutritional deficiency has minimized in number. Today, Governments does not require to store food in granary as crops can be grown throughout the year to meet the demand of the public.

Although, this development is praiseworthy but such development can be harmful to the human being in the long term. As farmers are not provided much training on the use of chemicals and fertilizers, if chemicals and fertilizers are over used then crops can have negative effect on human health. Besides, due to the excessive use of chemicals soil can loss its fertility and after few decades these lands will not be suitable for any kind of agricultural cultivation. Not only this, excess amount of pesticides and fertilizers are swept away to water bodies by rain water which can impact negatively to the eco-system of the water bodies.

In the conclusion, admittedly use of chemicals and fertilizers has a short term benefits to meet our demand but if its use is not monitored properly mankind will have to suffer in the long term.