Modern society is often described as consumer-driven. What are the reasons for this, and is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people think that modern society has become consumer-driven. I maintain that it is a positive development. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this trend and both drawbacks and benefits before a conclusion is drawn.

The first and foremost cause of this theory is easy access of goods. In other words, in the year of developing technologies, consumption and purchasing become more easy. One prime example for this would be online shopping, that gives people conditions to buying at any time and place. Consequently, this leads to increase of global consumerism.

On the one hand, it might provide financial-stress. To be more specific, people often order things just to follow trends and fit in society. For instance, young generation usually buy fashionable and brand new clothes and spend their parents’ money on it. As a result, rash purchasing may end up with loans or credits.

On the other hand, this innovation will provide economic growth. This means that high consumer spending boosts economy by increasing products and decreasing unemployment. For example, in developed countries consumerism is respectively higher. Therefore, most countries strive to enhance consumerism in order to earn more money.

In conclusion, modern society is known like consumer-driven mainly due to easy access. This trend supports economic growth but also lead to problem with finance.