Modern technologies make it possible to communicate with people from all around the world. This ability provides additional opportunities to learn a foreign language with native speakers. A potential downside is the difficulty of finding good teachers or understanding their accents. What are advantages and disadvantages?

Men and women are able to use developed innovations to practice foreign language skills with experienced tutors from all over the globe. The main benefits of this are valuable opportunities and saving student time. However, key drawbacks are differences in time zone and diversity of accents or dialects.

One advantage of exploring international languages online is that it provides numerous opportunities for training conversational skills and direct interaction with native speakers. Talking with a real person from other countries lets you speak the language in everyday situations, learn how people actually communicate, and also understand different types of accents. For instance, a student learning Korean can use a language exchange app like “HelloTalk” to connect with a native Korean speaker. By communicating, they can discuss many topics, learn idioms and phrases which are well-known only in Korea. Another positive aspect is that this saves a lot of time; you can practice whenever you want without spending time attending offline classes. It can be a convenient way, especially for those who work a lot and have not enough time for studying. Instead of wasting time traveling to weekly evening classes, which might require many hours, you can just use educational apps or online courses and build your schedule by yourself.

One of the negative sides is the significant time difference between you and your tutor. Schedule conflicts can be a critical problem, impacting negatively on your performance and energy levels. For example, imagine a student in Almaty, Kazakhstan, taking online lessons with a teacher from New York, United States. The time difference between the two continents is substantial. If the lesson is scheduled for a time convenient for the American teacher, perhaps midday, it will be either very late at night or very early in the morning for the student from Almaty. Furthermore, many accents and dialects can present a significant challenge. The wide range of pronunciation variations can cause confusion and make the learning process more difficult. To illustrate, Chinese has numerous options of dialects and accents that can confuse even professionals.

In conclusion, this essay considered both sides: advantages such as increased opportunities and time saving, and disadvantages, such as scheduling difficulties and communication challenges.