Modern technology has big impact on our environment. Some say that people should adopt simple lifestyle to solve this problem, while others argue that technology itself should provide a solution. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Recently, modern technology has reshaped nearly every aspect of human life, from how we communicate to how we work and travel. According to some, individuals should adopt a straightforward lifestyle to address the environmental issues caused by contemporary technology, while others believe that a solution should be proposed by the technology itself. In my opinion, using technology as a solution provider would be a more efficient way of tackling this issue.

On the one hand, it is often believed that a simple lifestyle solves the issues related to the environment. Living simply often leads to the consuming of fewer goods, producing less waste, and reduced amount of driving. This results in decreased resource extraction, decline in landfill waste, and lower carbon emissions, respectively. Another concern that is often voiced is that people who opt for living simply become more aware of their impact on the planet. This mindset can lead to long-term habits such as recycling and conserving energy. As more people support this way of thinking, it can improve the awareness of society towards the environment and encourage governments to implement more eco-friendly policies.

On the other hand, I share the opinion of those who contend that technology should propose a solution. Since technology has improved a lot, technological innovation can solve environmental problems more efficiently than individual actions. New technologies such as electric vehicles and renewable energy are designed to reduce pollution and dependence on fossil fuels. Consequently, a significant decrease in greenhouse gas emissions can be witnessed, which assists the slowdown of global warming and reduces the long-term damage to the planet. Furthermore, technology allows people to preserve their modern lifestyles while still protecting the environment. In today’s world, it is harsh for many people to give up comfort and modern convenience. However, eco-friendly technological alternatives, such as electric transport and smart homes allow people to live comfortably while still reducing their impact on environment.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that technology should be used to propose solutions to protect the environment, as it helps people not to leave their comfort zone, while the environment is still protected.