"Modern technology has increased our material wealth, but not our happiness." To what extent do you agree with this statement?

With the help of modern technology, individuals have found a good deal of ways to earn money and improve their economic background. However, despite the increase in their material wealth, some people argue that they do not feel much more pleasant with their current life. From my personal perspective, I advocate this school of thought.

It goes without saying that new ways of technology have brought material wealth to each person and society. First and foremost, the introduction of robots and automation has made a contribution to this trend. To be specific, a robot can work 24 hours a day without cease, not go on strike, and perform its tasks with ultimate precision or little errors compared to humans, which helps industries boost their effectiveness and productivity. As a result, these factories will produce more and better products and possess wealth. Moreover, the improvement of social media platforms such as Facebook and TikTok has provided a wide range of jobs for citizens. For example, many content creators appear and make a great deal of money from these platforms by producing videos to attract viewers and finance support, thereby being such a good way to earn a fortune.

However, many people do not feel a sense of sincere happiness with these positive influences on aspects of the economy. First of all, this tendency will give rise to the physical and mental gap among surrounding people. This is because, with the attraction of the Internet, people tend to be so addicted to social media that they hardly take care of others and lack face-to-face communications, which will cause a deficiency of soft skills and a feeling of boredom, isolation, and more seriously desperation. Furthermore, modern technology also leads users to suffer from stress and exhaustion. Nowadays, people have to work hard and burn the midnight oil all day in order to avoid being left behind as well as unemployed and keep up with the ever-changing world. Therefore, they will not have enough time to relax, pursue their own hobbies, and find their deep pleasure.

In conclusion, I am highly convinced that modern technology just brings citizens better salary and lifestyle but they are not wholly satisfied and happy with this due to the lack of social interaction and the mental health disorders they have to face up to.