Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to information in many countries. This is a danger to our societies.

In this modern world, technology has experienced significant growth and has reached worldwide posing many benefits and dangers to society. As the prompt states, one of those dangers is how “Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to information in many countries.” Although rapid and uncontrolled access to information has a positive impact on global communication, education, and innovation, there is also some information that is unchecked and could lead to potential harm to an individual and society as a whole.

The rapid information presented in the media is mostly posted on social media sites for instance Instagram or X which could enable that information or news to spread instantly and “go viral”. We should note that social media can be accessed at any time and anywhere, by this with modern technology, individuals can access information at any time and place. Moving on, the information presented in social media could either be beneficial or harmful. This harmful information could be in the form of propaganda or false information that could lead to the public being disrupted and divided. A great example of harmful information is during the Covid-19 pandemic, when there was much false information regarding the vaccination and healthcare system that as a result made the public lose trust and ended up not taking the vaccine. By this, without sufficient regulation, false information can spread before credible sources have time to intervene.

Another problem presented by uncontrolled access to information is the erosion of privacy of individuals. There is a saying, “Once you post something on the internet, it stays there forever”. I believe that this saying is true since our personal data that we put on the internet could be used for a variety of purposes beyond our control, often without our knowledge or consent. Personal data shared online—whether through social media posts, online shopping, or even casual web browsing—can be collected and analyzed by companies for targeted advertising, which can feel intrusive and exploitative. Users are often unaware of how much of their personal data is being shared or how it could be used in ways they did not intend, which reinforces the importance of data protection laws and the need for users to be cautious about the information they post online.

In conclusion, while modern technology has given society a major beneficial contribution, there is still a lack of control over the information posted in the media. There should be more progress and empowerment over the regulation and safeguarding of information shared online. Therefore I agree with the prompt that through more improved and modern technology, it poses a significant danger and threat since it allows rapid and uncontrolled access to information in many countries.