More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills.Do the advantages of the development outweighs the disadvantages?

Children these days are allowed to use tablets and play computer game with the belief that they are able to easily catch up useful skills in technology. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of such a permission.

With regard to positive effects, playing computer games serves as a catalyst in boosting children’s knowledge in technology. Frequent exposure to computers can provide opportunities to children to observe other things else in technological devices after they play enough game. Consequently, children’s interest in technology will be fostered and encourage them to pursue further education in technology-related area. For instance, young children are believed to come up with doubtful things in how games are developed and invented, thus allows them to check up the information on the internet and can lead them to dream of becoming game developers in later age.

However, concerns have been raised with children’s overuse of computers and tables and much of this related to their game genres. The problem is that they are likely to fall into juvenile delinquencies if the games they play involves plenty of violent actions. For instance, they are convinced to help the character through killing, and stabbing. Not only does it contribute to increase in aggressive behaviors and thinking, but also drags them into compulsory gamers who spend a lot of time on game rather than on essential technological skills.

To conclude, although the damaging effects seem to be quite worrying, the merits of such an implementation should also be taken into consideration since they are worth to help children in technological acquisition. Therefore, I hold a strong belief that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, though not significantly.