More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills.Do the advantages of the development outweighs the disadvantages?

Childen in this advanced society are being allowed to use electronic devices by more parents with a view to acquiring technological skills. From my perspective, this trend brings about greater drawbacks rather than benefits due to some following factors.

We cannot denny that playing on computers and tablets is actually advantageous for kids. The key merit is that they can learn skills relating to modern technology when getting access to such devices. This is because children can find out knowledge on the internet and then apply, frequently explore as well as practice with their computers or laptops. For example, kids could learn basic coding skills through educational apps like Scratch, which teaches them how to create simple animations and games. As a consequence, they train themselves to be technical in the field of computer technology or even become well-qualified programmers. It is true that this might help children get a highly-paid job more easily in this modernized world latterly.

Nonetheless, I would believe this development still does more harm than good. In the first place, both children’s physical and mental health are able to be negatively affected. That is to say, they spend a long period of time sitting in front of screens of electronic devices without parents’ control. This, therefore, makes kids short-sighted and feel tired in the long run, more seriously leading to online games addiction if they are not supervised properly. Another bad side is the detrimental influences of offensive contents via social media in computers and tablets. Once having accessed to them at young ages, children can be unaware and unconciously adopt such inappropriate behaviours in daily lives. For instance, after seeing violent images and videos, they will probably imitate those aggressive acts, causing physical impacts on objects or other people when they lose their temper.

On the whole, while using electronic devices at an early age benefits children, personally I would argue that its demerits overshadow the advantages, which should be deliberated to make right decisions by their parents.