More and more people are adopting a sedentary lifestyle due to modern technology. What are the disadvantages and advantages of this trend?

It is true that addiction to a sedentary lifestyle has increased significantly due to modern technologies, especially excessive screen time. While proponents of this trend highlight several disadvantages. I am of the opinion that the advantages far outweigh any potential drawbacks.

On the one hand, a sedentary lifestyle can bring several negative consequences on people’s physical and mental health. One major concern is that people lead a sedentary lifestyle, which results in a lack of physical activity and can increase obesity rates. We live in an era dominated by technology, and many people prefer to work in front of screen at their home instead of going to the offices. This style sometimes has a negative impact on people’s mental well-being and health issues, and they often suffer from frequent headache or poor eyesight. More importantly, at a time when many people struggle with different diseases all over the world, modern technologies cause to increase obesity rates. In other words, today, fast food and processed carbohydrates are one the most favorite meals of people, which can lead to become more obese. In this case; modern technologies also contribute to increase obesity rates among people as a result of physical inactivity, and improve unhealthy eating habits.

On the other hand, the positives of this trend seem to overshadow the downsides. One clear advantage is that it can reduce stress levels and improve well-being, as people can work and relax from home. Nowadays, people are becoming very busy with their works or studies, modern technologies play a crucial role in maintaining a work-life balance of people. The presence of enough time for family, friends, and leisure activities can mean that it helps them to improve efficiency and productivity in their workplace. When people have no problems, or nothing disturbs them, people can only focus on work, which can also lead to improve not only overall quality of life, but also well-being. Another point is that modern technologies provide a wide range of beneficial apps, online platforms, and programs, for example it helps people to give medical treatment through telemedicine. Since there are higher bills in hospitals, people are not capable of using healthcare services. In this case; online medical services are suitable for middle income people. Thereby, modern technologies can help people increase life expectancy.

In conclusion, although there some drawbacks in favour of this trend, it seems to me that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.