More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer to this problem?

In this contemporary era, the debate over immigration from rural areas to cities has garnered significant attention. While this approach would have some detrimental consequences, such overpopulation and air pollution, some measures could be taken to tackle these problems.

In today’s world, uncontrolled rate of immigration from villages to urban areas could bring some challenges for both cities and rural areas. Firstly, due to increasing rate of immigration, new accommodation will be needed to reside the new residents; this phenomenon can ultimately lead to a higher cost of housing, and bring some challenges for governments in the process of providing proper accommodations. Secondly, cities with a higher number of citizens face a problem called air pollution; governments in such cities have to establish more factories and industries to meet the residents demands which is the main factor resulting in air pollution by increasing the rate of carbon dioxide emission. Finally, the rate of crime in urban areas will increase primarily because regulating such huge population is a demanding goal and supervising them requires lots of efforts; as we can see these days in Tehran, the capital city of Iran.

However, governments could take some measures to tackle these issues. Investing money on developing country sides and providing more job opportunities can significantly prevent further immigration from rural areas to cities, because the main reason of immigration is looking for new job positions. Furthermore, encouraging people to reside in the rural areas and educating them about the importance of agricultural system and the benefits that could bring for them are other efficient methods to reduce the rate of immigration. Moreover, supervising people divided in different areas is much easier and governments can control the rate of crimes more efficiently. For instance, Italy’s government has established a programme which gives loan to those reside in villages and work in agriculture sector.

In conclusion, despite fact that large number of immigrants from rural areas to cities can cause several problems, such overpopulation and higher rate of crime, some solutions, such as investing money on developing country sides and providing better job opportunities can mitigate its drawbacks.