More and more people are streaming films and serial dramas online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Producing films and serial dramas through streaming and online access is controversial. I strongly believe that this issue brings certain drawbacks for both individuals and society.

Firstly, although it can’t be denied that streaming video online has its advantages such as offering the opportunity to watch the movies you want for free, it also brings some downside aspects. Loss of social interaction is one of the major impacts due to the advancement of making online films. It is evident that modern technology systems which are widely accepted lead to the rise of using social platforms; therefore, people have more opportunities to watch content online rather than seek traditional media and have direct connections. The ease of access to streaming platforms may encourage individuals to isolate themself to spend hours binge-watching, and become addicted to it; as a result, reducing the time they could spend with relationships such as family and friends. For instance, there are a considerable number of individuals in Japan who spend almost their lifetime watching anime series, isolate themself from real life, and refuse to communicate with others, even family members to immerse themselves in virtual life.

Secondly, not only do streaming dramas put individuals at risk of addiction, but this can also have a negative impact on the nation’s media industry. Streaming services offer a convenient way to make movies and episodes, allowing the user to watch content anytime, anywhere from various directors and programs; therefore, they will pay less attention to traditional ways of watching movies such as going to the cinema or watching TV channels. This seriously and directly affects the country’s film economy, leading to fewer job opportunities related to traditional cinema. Moreover, there could be a reduced variety of content being produced for those platforms.

In conclusion, I believe that streaming videos and dramas online mainly brings the risk of making people separate from life and affecting the development of the film industry compared to positive ones for society and individuals.