More and more people claim that modern work patterns are a source of stress. What do youthink are the causes of this? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

It is a fact that nowadays many people are suffering from mental illness such as stress due to overwork at their workplaces. The main cause is the productivity demand from their superiors which in turn can be solved by implementing a healthy work life balance.

One main reason of stress these days at work is the fast paced environment where employers demand immediate results to meet the deadlines. The contributing factors of mental distress include high productivity, meetings all the time and speedy report submission. Employees have to complete various tasks within short time, as a result of which they feel stressed. Rather than enhanced performance, this result into poor outcomes for both worker and the organisation. A survey conducted last year showed that people feel exhausted and stressed due to their occupation and even in worse condition leads to suicide. Therefore, a demanding workplace have severe negative effects on one’s mental health.

The best way to reduce this stress at workplaces is to develop a work life balance. The employers should identify one’s capabilities and limits and assign responsibilities accordingly. Keeping personal and work life separate is vital for healthy life. Companies should provide better environment to their employees focusing on their physical and mental health and this can be achieved by assigning tasks beforehand so, that they have enough time to complete it. They can also sponsor different tours and fun events for their staff once in a while so they can feel more relaxed and happy. This would help them to feel less anxious about work. Ultimately, this will uplift their performance along with the companies progress. Therfore, organisation can hinder the negative consequences of toxic work environment by maintaining work life balance.

To conclude, i believe mental stress affects individual’s both professionals and personal life which is sometimes very detrimental. So work life balance is the only solution that can save a worker from being stress out and feeling anxious all the time.