More and more people today are becoming overly dependent on the internet and phones. Is this a positive or negative development?

Today, the number of people addicted to the internet and phones is increasing. While this phenomenon does have some benefits, I believe it is mostly harmful due to its negative effects on both physical and mental health.

One advantage of the internet and smartphones is communication. These technologies provide an easy and efficient way for people to stay connect.They help individuals improving their professional and personal relations. Compared to the past, interaction has become much easier nowadays, as communication no longer takes as much time as it once did. For example: thanks to messenger apps, parents can easily stay in touch with their children regardless of physical location. As a result , inididuals do not have to worry about losing contact and can stay informed about thei loved ones. Therefore, it is reasonable to consider the dependency on the internet and phones a positive development.

Despite these advantage, I perceive this growing reliance as more of as addiction, making it largely a negative development.Firstly, excessive social media use leads to physical problems such as obesity. This issue arrise due to the sedentary lifestyle encouraged by phones. People spend less time engaging in sports and other hobbies, opting instead interact only with technology without any duties. Additionally, addiction to social media contributes mental health problems. Overuse of the internet and smartphones can lead to low-self-esteem , harmull comparison and negative emotions. For instance, on Instagram, users tend to showcase only the bright side of their lives while hiding the dark speciality. Consequently, individuals compare their real lives to these ideal picture in social medias, exposingto self-doubt and dissatifaction.

In conclusion, although the internet ans smartphones improve communication and make life more covienient, the physical and mentall health risks make me think that this development is more negative that positive.