More and more people today are becoming overly dependent on the internet and phones. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that the use of the internet and advanced technology in the modern world nowadays has been on the increase. I believe that this is a completely detrimental tendency due to negative consequences for individuals and society.

On an individual scale, over-dependence on technology could have an adverse influence on the physical and mental health of people. By committing longer time to mobile devices, individuals are more likely to develop a sedentary lifestyle, which consists of a laid-back attitude, and be discouraged from physical exercises. As a result, people could put their health at risk from obesity, sleep disorders, and eye strains. Furthermore, as people spend most of their time surfing the internet and using their phones, they might get exposed to images featuring figures of privileged backgrounds. These pictures could produce negative feelings among individuals, by prompting them to compare their lives with others, which can make them feel isolated and overwhelmed.

On a larger scale, the over-reliance on technology can lead to a range of problems for society. To illustrate, spending too much time on screens could prompt individuals to be addicted to these technologies and detach them from their outside social relationships. As a result, over-reliance on smartphones and the internet should reduce the presence of face-to-face communication, which could weaken emotional bonds and hamper social cohesion. Moreover, as people constantly get exposed to social media platforms, individuals may have a greater chance to get access to false news and articles online. This could give rise to widespread misconceptions on media channels and unverified content, thus provoking public anger against national authorities and affecting social cohesion.

In conclusion, I am of the belief that the trends of overusing modern devices and the internet should be deemed as undesirable due to itheirts harmful implications on citizens and the whole society. Technologies therefore should be utilized more carefully, promoting theirits positive impacts while maintaining awareness about the demerits of overusing.