More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, due to globalisation, more and more people are diverting towards the brands. They prefer to buy branded and luxury items to stay relevant in this modern era, usually they follow famous celebrities and try to imitate them. However, I believe that this development has negatively impacted the middle-class people and raise the financial crisis among them.

One of the major reasons that people now prefer to purchase branded items is that these branded products may promote by their favourite celebrity through social media. These days it is very common that many people remain active on social sites and keep tracking the lifestyle of their favourite influencer as they may want to become like them. This is because, famous individuals get enormous attention and respect by having these branded items. For example, a famous cricketer virat kohli has recently promoted a shoe brand and following him, his many fans have purchased the same brand and posted it on Instagram. Therefore, under the influence of famous celebrities’ people invest their money in buying branded clothes, cars and other items.

However, this trend negatively affects the people who are not much financially stable. Middle class individuals are generally working on the low wages and in order to stay relevant in the modern society, they forced to purchase costly branded items. As a result of this, middle-class people are often living under the pressure of earning more and more to buy branded items. Consequently, they have to work for longer hours than usual, which inturn negatively affects their mental wellbeing. Therefore, increasing trend of having branded products can destroy the mental health of the middle-class sections who can not afford brands but have to buy them to maintain their reputation.

In conclusion, people are favouring branded items under the influence of their favourite celebrities in order to stay relevant in society, nevertheless this development negatively affects those who have not strong financial sources. Therefore, this trend should be discouraged by the government through mental health awareness campaign.