More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

It become an increasing trend that many individuals want to purchase goods of popular brands such as cars, clothes, watches and other luxurious items. The root causes behind this is quality of items and copying celebrities appearance. Personally, I term it as a negative development because it is wasting of money and it affect vendors income.To begin with the reasons, since purchasing extravagant products become a symbol status for many people because they consider themselves that thy are different from society. For instance if a person by luxury products like as Rolex watch or Mercedes car they think that they are more wealthy and they hold different status in society . Moreover, the other reason is that nowadays youngsters imitate famous personalities because they want to look like them. To explain this, individuals purchase same products either by their favorite actor or by their sports player. As a consequences, the root causes for this is following celebrities blindly and considering it as a status symbol.

Moving towards the negative side, spending on branded goods is waste of money because there are plenty of products available in market which have similar quality with less price. For example, one can easily find alternative of same shirt in their native place with similar looks which saves money as compared to expensive branded items. Beside this, it affects negatively to local vendors, shopkeepers as well as small business. To elaborate it, people purchase branded clothes from malls rather than from local market not only decrease the income of local vendors but it also affect them negatively. Thus, the demerit of this development is waste of money and it weaken local businesses

To conclude, although the reasons of buying this products are symbol of status for many people and they want to copy their favorite celebrity. However, in my opinion, it is waste of money and it is a disadvantage for many local vendors.